Carb Flooding - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > Carb Flooding

Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-11-2012, 09:03 AM   #1
Navyjeepfan

Carb Flooding

Could use a little help! I have a 90 YJ with the stock carb. Carb and engine run like a top in the city, but when it's on the highway and I get her in 5th gear gas seems to dump into the carb from everywhere and she bogs down. The carb looks clean, jets float and bowl seem fine until she hits around 3000-3400 RPM constant. I'm no mechanic but it seems as though its time
to upgrade to the MC 2150. Any ideas on what may be causing this or is it time for a replacement? thanks for any help!time for a n

Navyjeepfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-11-2012, 04:55 PM   #2
NonRubicon
1990 YJ Wrangler 

To really be of much help you'll need to provide the details of your setup. Gearing, tires, if OEM stock Carter BBD (computer still in loop).

FWIW, I had trouble with my OEM computerized carter going much above 3200 rpm or so until I did the Team Rush upgrade. After the upgrade I could go to 4000 rpm if I wanted to. But seeing as the 4.2L makes peak torque around 2000 rpm, and peak horsepower around 3200 rpm, going above 3200 rpm isn't really going to be of any benefit.

However, bogging in 5th gear could be due to tall tires and tall gears. Pair 31" tires with 3.07 gears and you aren't going to get much power out of 5th gear.

If you still have the OEM computerized carter BBD check here: Adventures Under the Hood
NonRubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-12-2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Navyjeepfan