AMC 360 water pump ???s - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > AMC 360 water pump ???s

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 11-19-2003, 06:22 PM   #1
slickwillie

AMC 360 water pump ???s

Well, after being away from my CJ for a while, I finally started working on it. I was going to change out the water pump, & when I was cleaning the flange on the front of the motor, I noticed the crack & missing metal at the big lower right bolt hole.

If you haven't noticed by now, I am a TOTAL AMC noob. How do I remove this part? I've looked at it, & I'm lost. I'm also throwing around the idea of pulling it & rebuilding, or possibly replacing the motor. Any thoughts on this?

slickwillie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-19-2003, 07:18 PM   #2
fuzz401
1978 CJ7 

that is the timing cover to get it off you will have to remove the ballencer off the crank then remove the bolts to the cover and the front of the oil pan
were that chunck is missing could be left a lone pull the timing cover reseal the gasket put the cover back on insert some ultra blue into the bolt hole reinstall the water pump were the bolt goes is to the block and that is it sealing up the hole with ultra blue will keep the water out from the bolt

or you can find another timing cover to replace it with if needed i have some spares
turbo 400 tranny 2500 stall
model 20 transfer case
aj delux glass body
4" lift
dana 30 frount
dana 44 rear
4.56 gears
http://img2.photobucket.com/albums/v...slideshow=true
http://photobucket.com/albums/v31/fu...slideshow=true
13.461 @ 92.45 mph on 37" super swampers on 1/4 mile