95 ZJ Transmission Issues! HELP!!! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > 95 ZJ Transmission Issues! HELP!!!

NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail Ruffstuff XJ Unirail Channel Reinforcement....

Unread 10-30-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
zjmike92

95 ZJ Transmission Issues! HELP!!!

Hey guys this is my first time posting on here so I hope I did everything ok.

I have a 95 Grand Cherokee with the 4.0 and 42le transmission. I recently just got the vehicle and it runs and drives great, other than not going into overdrive. But I think that is because of the ON/OFF button on the dash. It has worked before.
Most of the time when I drive it, starting from a stand still in D, it has no power and feels like it doesn't shift at all, nor go into overdrive. Occasionally the transmission will go through all the gears and overdrive just like it is meant to be. I usually just drop it into M2 to have better pickup, M1 is like M2 in my jeep. But just last night it wont back up. I can put it in reverse, the reverse lights come on, but its like it strains to back up, just sits there and revs to 2000 rpms. all forward gears have worked fine today, as long as i **** down to M2 and then to D. This is my first jeep so Please help me figure out whats wrong and what I can do to figure it out. Thanks!!

zjmike92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-30-2012, 07:34 PM   #2
TheFryer
1996 XJ Cherokee 

your could try replacing the trans filter and the fluid. it should look red on the stick, not brown or black. mine is having issues as well with lockup. also had some shifting issues that have been going away sense i did a filter and fluid change.