75k too many miles? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > 75k too many miles?

Artec Holiday Sale!Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 07-14-2005, 08:19 AM   #1
Rock1127

75k too many miles?

I've choked the hell out of my current jeep and squeezed 286k out of it. I thought it was time to upgrade, but being a student i'm on a really tight budget. I found an engine for 400 + 100 shipping that has 75k on it and another one that has 60k for 650 shipped. Is it really worth spending 150.00 more to save 15k miles? I just want something that's a decent upgrade from my current pooped engine. I'd appreciate all help.

Also, the engine i'm looking at is from a 1994 grand cherokee, will it fit in my '93?

Rock1127 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-14-2005, 11:15 AM   #2
digibus

Well, if both engines are 4.0s, you didn't say, they will swap in the same. I would not drop the extra cash on the motor just to save on 15k miles. While you're at it you should go ahead and build a stroker engine. I mean if you're pullin the block any ways all you really need are the crank and rods from an old 4.2 and then later if you want to upgrade to larger pistons cams ported head and all that you already have an extra block to work with.
[B]1999 4.0 WJ Limited [/B] NX Wet EFI Kit;HESCO Head, Cam and Water Pump;Apexi SAFC2;Accel 24lb injectors;K&N FIPK; 2.5" Dynomax Ultraflow SS Exhaust; Dynatech Cat; Banks SS header;Custom 3" Head Pipe;E Cut-out;62mm TB & Spacer; MSD DIS-4; Jet 180°stat;H&R springs;Eibach Sway Bars;Brembo Rotors; Streetscene grill;E.L. Dash ; Autometer C2 EGT, N2O & Fuel Pressure;Edlebrock A:F Meter