4.2 -> 4.0 possible? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Engines & Drivetrain > 4.2 -> 4.0 possible?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!

Unread 06-30-2013, 02:11 PM   #1
DaemonForce

4.2 -> 4.0 possible?

I finally decided to give this forum a shot since every hosting provider in existence seems to go boom right along with my car so I'm wondering who here can help me figure this out. I'm a classic AMC enthusiast and though I've been relying on the inline 6 engine for the past 5 years, I'm open to using a 4 or 8 but those options aren't available. I would like to swap a recently blown 258 for whatever I can pull from the boneyard.

Here's what I know:
Not all 4.0's are equal. Some have a crack-prone Renix head or a nice Chrysler head...I have a spare Chrysler head with the water jackets filled.
Not all pans are equal. The 4.0 pan is a nightmare. I need to reuse the 258 pan or face clearance issues with the Eagle crossmember.
The bore is bigger but so is the 258 crank. I have a spare I intend to use to make a 282 stroker.
I prefer carbs but the 4.0 standard is fuel injection. I need help understanding this.
Because of FI electronics, I may have to change the entire drivetrain.

Issues: