Which rebuild kit to buy?? - JeepForum.com
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Street Jeep Forum > Which rebuild kit to buy??

Yeti Paracord Handles are in at JeepHut.comFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! 6th annual beat your wife to the credit cards sale!!

Unread 07-09-2015, 09:36 PM   #1
2002 XJ Cherokee 
Which rebuild kit to buy??

I am new to this, but here goes!!!

we tore the engine out of our Jeep Grand Cherokee and we need to purchase a rebuild kit. This is a first for us doing a newer model vehicle and I am the computer savvy yet mechanically disinclined girlfriend trying to buy a rebuild kit online. I know that it is not High Output, its a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Special Edition. v8 4.7l and the problem with it was a rod bearing slipped out. We need tips/ideas on which one...

Thank you very much for your time!!!

vredenbj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-26-2015, 09:53 PM   #2
1999 XJ Cherokee 
Although kits may be available, rebuilding is quite a mech-savvy job. It's either a complete rebuild, meaning that the engine is taken into atoms, cylinders re-honed, new pistons+rings, (putting them together is a form of art on its own), rebuild the heads, meaning that valves must be set-up, the list goes on. The easiest option for you is either go to a shop that SPECIALIZES in rebuilding, and they'll do it for you. Trust me it's still better than ashamedly bringing a motor in the shop and let them puzzle it out (more hours more $). another option is install a fresher or rebuilt engine, and it possibly saves money on the long run.
A rebuild is serious matter, you can't cut corners
aronkovacs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

2002 , 4.7 liter , cherokee , rebuild , v8