VegasGT's "Clifford The Big Red Unibody" - Page 67 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ/MJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > VegasGT's "Clifford The Big Red Unibody"

Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippBLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!

Unread 12-14-2013, 09:44 AM   #991
VegasGT
Rustler of Jimmies

1999 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by crockett07 View Post
Good write up. I noticed you ran a normal bolt through just the inside of the new bracket, where the old shackle bolt went. I used my old shackle bolt and ran it through the entire bracket. I think it held it together a little better, but I'm no engineer
I just used the bolt supplied in the box there. Did you have any problems with bending the bracket inward a bit? Unless you used a crush sleeve in the middle to take up the gap it seems like you couldnt really put as much torque to it without starting to tweak the bracket a bit. Although with a shackle bolted up it shouldnt tweak I dont suppose, it is 1/4" after all lol.

I just used the short bolt because theres nothin to try and force inward while torquing. Just a 1/4" plate snugging flat against the nutsert on the rail.

July 2013 COTM
July 2014 COTM
Build Thread
VegasGT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-14-2013, 09:52 AM   #992
crockett07
1992 XJ Cherokee 

For me the shackle was narrower than the bracket, so I used the bolt to pull the bracket in just enough to where it all fit nice
crockett07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-14-2013, 09:57 AM   #993
VegasGT
Rustler of Jimmies

1999 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by crockett07 View Post