Thinking of buyng an XJ...any tips? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > Thinking of buyng an XJ...any tips?

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 05-23-2014, 11:34 AM   #1
Hazard85

Thinking of buyng an XJ...any tips?

Hello everyone!

I've been playing in the mud for several years now, but in 4x4 trucks and ATVs, but now, with a family, I'm thinking it's time for a four-door trail rig. I settled on an XJ because they are plentiful, cheap, and parts are widely available. The rig I buy will be offroad only (it will be trailered there and back). I'm thinking of going with an automatic, purely because it's easier to "rock it" out of a mud hole. With that being said, here is the list of mods I'm thinking of:

Weld both front and rear diffs.

Redneck intake snorkel (PVC pipe run out the fender and up the A pillar)

Cat delete, glasspack muffler, and exhaust snorkel.

Fender cut

4" lift

33" Mud tires

6,000 lb winch with appropriate bumper

This will be a trail/mud rig; no rock crawling.

I'm asking for input on my ideas, as well as if there are certain years or options to look for or avoid. Thanks in advance!!

Hazard85 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-23-2014, 12:16 PM   #2
foreveryoung001
1996 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazard85 View Post
Hello everyone!