Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

So I hear...

1K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  rugsucka 
#1 ·
So I hear that Xjs outwheel, mud, crawl, etc.. WJs. Any truth to this? I am about to enter the jeep world for the first time, and I can't decide which one to pop my cherry on :laugh:

#3 ·
I am trading in a sports car for a vehicle to be a DD but tear up trails and mud on the weekends with buddies. I have some family members who have had both and they loved the XJ. I think it may come down between the wj and xj as to had you rather have luxury or less luxury. That's my thinking. I am new to the jeep thing and I want to use it for both, but if it doesn't go through my weekends of wheeling then I dont want it. Thanks for the response!

#7 ·
I've dealt with both, and will pick the XJ every time. The Grands have typical Chrysler electrical problems and transmission issues. XJs seem to be able to take more abuse, so I'd go for one of those unless you find a Grand that has been well taken care of.

#8 ·
:cheers2:I appreciate the help. BTW, awesome panda pic lol. I know you guys will hate to hear this, but it seems I might be getting a WJ soon with a v8. I know you all are xj guys, but I think the WJ is just going to fit my needs to the T. Thanks for all of your help!

#10 ·
XJ without a doubt my choice, I have has an XJ since '93 and have never had a more reliable vehicle. They are basically a YJ in an SUV format. They are so universal at home on road as well as on the trail. The XJ doesn't have as much room as the Grand though, but it makes up for it in performance. Easy to work on and to upgrade with more aftermarket kits for the XJ.

Best wishes
XJ liker

#13 ·