Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Should I do this?

3K views 58 replies 27 participants last post by  chris87xj 
#1 ·
So basically I want to sell my Jeep for $4000 and buy another cherokee that is down the street from me for $1400 and put the rest of the money into it... The one i'm looking at is a 1990 (I think) XJ 4.0 Auto 187k VERY clean inside and out, and all stock. My jeep is a 99 XJ 4.0 187k and also very clean.. SO the question is should I do it, or should I just keep my jeep?

See less See more
#3 ·
Well I am a high school student so therefore I dont have a lot of money and if i had all the cash from selling my jeep to put into another I could buy a lift, tint, stereo, metal, ect. ect. all at once plus i already have a set of 33's waiting in my garage.

#5 ·
Well thanks! But my jeep is pretty much a mall crawler and if i had a fresh start with plenty of cash in hand I could build up the new jeep how i want it, whereas if i kept my jeep i would have to build it little by little just to fit 33's

#8 ·
No! Lol keep the 99, I have a 99 sport and when I look at the older jeeps I cringe a little. I mean they're all great don't get me wrong but I think you'll be disappointed, plus you'll have to worry about all of the age problems that WILL happen. Starting over is hard and it seems nice having a bunch of cash to dump into it right away but probably not worth it, good luck either way though!!

#12 ·
keep the 99, I dont think you will be happy with the 90. I sold my 99 with 200k for a 96 with 66k and the difference in interiors bothered me but the first time I went to deliver mail with it the brakes locked up. My 99 was very good Jeep and didnt let me down. I was sorry I sold it.

#14 ·