Radio power supply handle an amp??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > Radio power supply handle an amp???

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSteinjager TJ tube doorsAttention to the TJ owners 1996-2006 NEW LED LIGHT OPTIONS

Reply
Unread 12-22-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Radio power supply handle an amp???

I was thinking about buying an Alpine KTP-445A Power-Pack to better power (4) Pioneer 6-1/2" speakers.

Do y'all think the radio power supply could safely handle the power load?

__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 04:50 PM   #2
PaYankee
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00XJMikey
I was thinking about buying an Alpine KTP-445A Power-Pack to better power (4) Pioneer 6-1/2" speakers.

Do y'all think the radio power supply could safely handle the power load?
Your selections are not worth the money or effort to replace the factory setup.
__________________
99 xj 2wd/94xj 4wd np231 3lift
PaYankee is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 05:33 PM   #3
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaYankee View Post
Your selections are not worth the money or effort to replace the factory setup.
I do not understand how that relates in anyway to my question or the purpose of this thread, but thanks for the reply.
__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 06:14 PM   #4
PaYankee
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00XJMikey

I do not understand how that relates in anyway to my question or the purpose of this thread, but thanks for the reply.
Note: The factory radio circuit needs to be a minimum of 15A. If it is not, a separate power and ground will need to be installed for the KTP-445A

I don't know how many amps the factory circuit is. I personally wouldn't do it.
__________________
99 xj 2wd/94xj 4wd np231 3lift
PaYankee is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 06:56 PM   #5
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaYankee View Post
Note: The factory radio circuit needs to be a minimum of 15A. If it is not, a separate power and ground will need to be installed for the KTP-445A

I don't know how many amps the factory circuit is. I personally wouldn't do it.
Ok. I'll take everything apart again and run new wires for an amp. Thanks.
__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 07:28 PM   #6
Motorcharge
Registered User
1992 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 11,504
For what you'll spend on that you can buy a much better aftermarket deck and speakers.
__________________
|Project Motörcharge | XJ Non-Tech FAQ | Ammo Can Lock Box | Motorcycle Build|

WANTED: YJ Rollbar - PM for details.
Motorcharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcharge View Post
For what you'll spend on that you can buy a much better aftermarket deck and speakers.
I already have an Alpine cde-143bt and the pioneer speakers I linked. Both bought local for a lot less.
__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2013, 10:07 AM   #8
MikeHoncho88
Desert Rat
 
MikeHoncho88's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00XJMikey View Post
I was thinking about buying an Alpine KTP-445A Power-Pack to better power (4) Pioneer 6-1/2" speakers.

Do y'all think the radio power supply could safely handle the power load?
So you are running an Alpine deck and thinking about adding the powerpack? I ran one of those for 2 years and I was happy with it. You shouldn't have to rewire anything. It comes with a plug in harness. It plugs into the back of your deck, and the harness plugs into it.

The advantage of the power pack is ease of install, and the fact that it can be hidden in the dash. It improves the sound, but not by a lot.
MikeHoncho88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2013, 10:27 AM   #9
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHoncho88 View Post

So you are running an Alpine deck and thinking about adding the powerpack? I ran one of those for 2 years and I was happy with it. You shouldn't have to rewire anything. It comes with a plug in harness. It plugs into the back of your deck, and the harness plugs into it.

The advantage of the power pack is ease of install, and the fact that it can be hidden in the dash. It improves the sound, but not by a lot.
I only rewired my speaker wiring. I tried to remove just the ends by the speakers, but found it easier to run completely new wiring from the factory radio connector.

Thanks. I don't need a ton of power, I just want to hear my speakers clearer at low volumes.
__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2013, 11:17 PM   #10
uberxj92
Registered User
1992 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: umatilla, florida
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaYankee View Post

Note: The factory radio circuit needs to be a minimum of 15A. If it is not, a separate power and ground will need to be installed for the KTP-445A

I don't know how many amps the factory circuit is. I personally wouldn't do it.
Pre97 is 10amps. And the grounds are weak there.
__________________
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f177/92-xj-sadness-2075657/index2.html
uberxj92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-24-2013, 07:08 AM   #11
Motorcharge
Registered User
1992 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 11,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00XJMikey View Post
I already have an Alpine cde-143bt and the pioneer speakers I linked. Both bought local for a lot less.
My bad, misread and thought you were trying to use it with the factory radio.
__________________
|Project Motörcharge | XJ Non-Tech FAQ | Ammo Can Lock Box | Motorcycle Build|

WANTED: YJ Rollbar - PM for details.
Motorcharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-24-2013, 08:45 AM   #12
00XJMikey
Broke XJ Lover
 
00XJMikey's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcharge View Post

My bad, misread and thought you were trying to use it with the factory radio.
No worries. The factory unit went bye bye once I discovered Bluetooth audio streaming. Now I can enjoy the "luxuries" my fiancee's Ford Escape upgraded sound system has.
__________________
Facebook
00XJMikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-24-2013, 10:01 AM   #13
green97xjsport
Registered User
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Litchfield, Ohio
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00XJMikey View Post
I do not understand how that relates in anyway to my question or the purpose of this thread, but thanks for the reply.
The purpose of your thread doesn't in any way relate to this section either, maybe he was just being coy about it instead of a more direct approach.

you would probably get more responses in the correct section....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/ as your query has nothing to do with any borderline technical advice for an XJ other than that's what your putting it in.
__________________
,======o00o.
/__||_l__l,\___\,___
l_--\__\__l_---[]llllll[]
_(o))_____(o))--o-))
green97xjsport is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.