Need some schoolin' on jacks/rudiments - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > Need some schoolin' on jacks/rudiments

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineToxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake LineCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 12-28-2013, 11:29 AM   #1
Rustlin
1994 XJ Cherokee 

Need some schoolin' on jacks/rudiments

Hey yall, I need some advice on jacks. I cant seem to find if a hi lift is more for off road use. Im looking primarily for a jack that will give me enough lift for basic maintenance for now. Maybe jack stands. Im a noob when it comes to wrenching but Ive got tools. Also, if you guys could point me in the right direction for a basic tune up job and advice for what to do with a freshly acquired, 20 yr old jeep I would be very grateful. I just need some help getting started. Ill look into mpg mods once I get some experience. Thanks.

Rustlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-29-2013, 08:55 AM   #2
98muddyjeep
rockin lil red wagon

1998 XJ Cherokee 

I would not use a highlift jack for everyday repairs they can be a bit unstable,I would look for a nice 2-3 ton floor Jack. Sears sells a craftsman set with jackstands which I done think is to costly not top of the line but will work fine for most home repairs. Save some money and get a compressor an d some air tools as well if you have space for them it will really help in the long run,air rachets and impact guns make tight bolts a bit easier or the wrists.
Unread 12-29-2013, 09:08 AM   #3
my1979impala
2000 TJ Wrangler