Is this Liftgate salvageable? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > Is this Liftgate salvageable?

Baseline 4x4 Lifetime Warranty 4340 Chromoly Axle Shaft KiClayton Off Road WJ Long Arm Kits!Clayton Off Road - JK Prototype Gas Tank Skid

Unread 06-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #1
markcorpus
1998 ZJ 

Is this Liftgate salvageable?

Hello. I am usually at the ZJ forum but have recently acquired a 99 XJ so I'm new to the XJ forum. The new XJ was backed into and the tailgate caved in. I have not attempted to open the gate yet until I have some possible alternatives in the event it doesn't go well. The previous owner did not attempt to open it either.

I am looking for suggestions on what to do next. Try to push the dents out from the inside? Consider it a loss and buy a replacement? Either way I need to get the thing open to remove it. What would be the best approach without busting the glass? Thanks to anyone with some experience/insight on this.

dscn0866.jpg   dscn0873.jpg  
markcorpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
MOBBiN

2001 XJ Cherokee 

Pull the plastic panel from the inside?

A big flathead and pull the handle out?

BFH
Unread 06-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
Kettles
2001 XJ Cherokee 

You say did not attempt to open it, do you mean other than grabbing the handle like normally? Or not even that? Because if it is the latter, my advice would be to grab the handle and lift.

I think you would have a very hard time getting the plastic off the inside with it closed. But I would be inclined to kick on it from the inside while someone was lifting the handle.

Cutoff wheel will work for sure
_.(o)_)__.(o)_)--o-)_)