How much of a project - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > How much of a project

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 09-20-2012, 05:44 AM   #1
jlauritsen

How much of a project

Ok, so I have been in the market for a new car. I've been looking and shopping around. Always been a jeep fan, but only ever got hand me down cars in the past (mazda, geo, buick, nissan). I've been looking at some of the newer Wranglers, but the other day my wife said to me "Why not get a Cherokee and fix it up a bit." Now... I am not a very mechanically inclined person. I've changed the oil a few times myself and replaced an EGR valve when I had a Geo Metro... Everything else, I took it to the mechanic.

We are looking to get a lightweight travel trailer and do some traveling around in a few years. Weight wise it would be around 3000lbs gross, so both the new 4door Wrangler and the Cherokee can haul it (i would make sure it had electric brakes).

My main question is this. If I got the Cherokee, how much of a project am I really in for? I won't be doing any heavy off-roading. More hauling the trailer and traveling forest service roads and unmaintained mountain roads (without the trailer attached). I have been able to find a few in the color I want (green) nearby.

So how much of a project are they? Everything I can find is typically between 120k and 175k miles.

jlauritsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2012, 11:03 AM   #2
gcy24
1999 XJ Cherokee