Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Gas prices caused you to drive your XJ less?

6K views 117 replies 90 participants last post by  charger_340 
#1 ·
I can for sure say that I drive my XJ less now that gas has gone over $3.50/gal. Even with my 4.10s delivering better than stock city mileage, being a college student, I just can't afford it. Luckily I'm close to campus so I can ride my bike to class, downtown, the quicky mart for beer, or walk to the bars. :)

--Dan.

#40 ·
heres a thought, If gas was back down to 2.50 a gallon would you drive more?
or complain about gas prices?

10 years ago gas was 1.19 a gallon and people were complaining then about the price. it will never change no matter how much it goes up or down.

#42 ·
heres a thought, If gas was back down to 2.50 a gallon would you drive more?
or complain about gas prices?

10 years ago gas was 1.19 a gallon and people were complaining then about the price. it will never change no matter how much it goes up or down.
I complained about gas prices a lot less ten years ago... it hasn't been this bad since the last oil shortage.

As it is, I might have to move house, because I can't afford to live away from town anymore - unless I find a much better job, spending the first three hours of my workday paying for the commute just isn't reasonable.

--Bushytails

#45 ·
It costs me $4.09 per gallon now. And I drive only when I have to. Im in the same situation- I ride my bike to school and the grocery store. And Im only getting like 15mpg city with stock gearing :( I also speed and accelerate too fast.

#47 ·
My XJ is the "economical" vehicle in my driveway......

#53 ·
I will second that, I had an '81 4WD with the dual range transfer case, sold at 325000km running great, but dying a slow, cruel, rusty death.