Bed liner vs vinyl flooring? - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > Bed liner vs vinyl flooring?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 07-02-2012, 07:30 PM   #16
raypla
1999 XJ Cherokee 

In my previous life I was a tinknocker (sheetmetal mechanic) by trade, I grew impartial to tekscrews and had easy access to much sheetmetal.

By time I figured out my junk had a leaky doorseal it had been detrimental to the floor and the rust had it's way w/it. This was 3 years ago I patched it the best way I could, a layer of 18 ga Stainless sheet on the ext. surface with the floor sandwiched between some epoxy and 20 ga galvanized for the int. surface, a whole helping of tekscrews.

While tackling my rusting rockers (see below) I discovered rust developing beyond the floor patch. So I took care of one issue at a time with the rockers being first.

With winter approaching it was time to do the floor. Over 2 months the rust had developed into a 3-4" hole. With the majority of the hole being under the seat rail. Once I removed the rest of the carpet, that I hadn't removed when I did the first patch job, I found the existing carpet had wicked water and developed superficial rust on the whole driverside of the XJ.