'92 Jeep Cherokee Laredo - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ/MJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > '92 Jeep Cherokee Laredo

Ruffstuff 10 year saleBDS 4-1/2" Suspension Lift Kit - Jeep Wrangler YJRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 09-10-2015, 06:37 PM   #1
IamHenshaw

'92 Jeep Cherokee Laredo

Okay, so I'm new to the whole Jeep thing.
I've owned a couple of trucks ('82 Dodge W150, '88 Chevy K15, '72 Ford F100), but I've come across a Cherokee with 273,XXX miles.
I mean the thing is in great shape, drives great, handles great, and all the options work. The only issues are the center console latch missing and it will start up and run without putting a key in the ignition.. Which is a mystery to me.
However, the milage just has me hung up. I've always heard that the 4.0L HO engine is tough, but I haven't the slightest clue HOW tough. The guy has all the service logs and what not, I'm just trying to figure out if the vehicle will last and if it's a decent buy. Seems like cost of replacing parts is pretty cheap though.

IamHenshaw is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-10-2015, 06:39 PM   #2
IamHenshaw

Oh and how about transmission durability.. All I know is it's a four speed auto with overdrive..
IamHenshaw is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-13-2015, 08:40 PM   #3
Tru2Chevy
Web Wheeler

1992 XJ Cherokee 

My '92 Cherokee has 284k on it and it runs and shifts great. I bought it with 241k miles. The trans is an Aisin-Warner AW4, and is also known to be pretty robust.

- Justin

1996 Cherokee Classic - 3.5" lift / 31.0x10.5 Mastercraft Courser CTs / Warn XD9000i - Stripped for parts / junked :(

2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo - 4.7, bone stock - Wife's DD