'88 XJ Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > '88 XJ Build

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 04-10-2012, 08:38 PM   #1
Eagyl
1988 XJ Cherokee 

'88 XJ Build

I'm new to both Jeeps and the Jeep Forum, and saw other people had build threads going for their Jeeps, and thought I'd join in. Just bought my '88 Cherokee Laredo January 5th, and have been doing stuff with it as I go, with great plans for the future. Since I'm starting this now, I'll go ahead and list everything I've done so far, and everything I'm working on at the moment. Because I'm going to college right now, everything is currently stock. Cash is a little low, so I'm focusing on fixing leaks and all that fun stuff before I move on to more "fun" stuff.
What I've done so far:
-Installed a locking gas cap
-Replaced the track bar [had over 1" of free play]
-Replaced shocks
-Valve cover gasket & rear main seal
-Replaced the pathetic P205/75/R15 Wild Country tires with LT235/75/R15 Cooper Discoverer ATRs
-Replaced the driver's electrical mirror
-Replaced the shot speakers
-Replaced the broken grill parts
-Replaced left turn signal wiring harness
What I'm working on:
-Factory Tire rack [got it from local car yard for $30]
-Fixing up a 4'x2.5' hitch rack [going camping all summer, be great for coolers and extra gear!]
-sanding down grey trim, front/rear bumpers, tire rack, hitch rack, and mirrors and then putting a coat of bed liner on them
-Fixing rear window washer
-Replacing rear window
-Rebuilding the front/rear brakes
-Replace front seats

Can't post any pictures yet, but I'm taking them as I go, and hope to post soon.