2001 Cherokee Classic renovation? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-10-2017, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Fotomon

2001 Cherokee Classic renovation?

Newbie here. We are a Jeep Family for many years. I've decided to take over my oldest sons 2001 Cherokee Classic and put some money into bringing it back to something I can drive for camping and fishing. No ground up restoration but looking at a new paint job, some new interior upholstery and whatever engine work needs to be done. It's actually in pretty good shape. Does have about 180k miles on it. Mostly highway. We are the second owners. Always loved the look and that straight line 6 engine.

What I would like to know from anyone that has a similar model is what I should look out for and be sure to have looked at closely by any mechanic I take it to. Are there any recurring issues with this year and model?

I've always thought the power steering wasn't the smoothest but could be just how this model drives. A bit stiff but better than nothing I guess. Normal?

Center console is wobbly. At least the top padded part. Have to look at info on how to take apart and see why.

Any good source out there for proper ways to take apart door panels and other areas? Plan on retiring and replacing speakers, etc..

Any insights, suggestions, sources for parts will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-11-2017, 08:49 AM
bluejunior
Web Wheeler

2001 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotomon View Post
What I would like to know from anyone that has a similar model is what I should look out for and be sure to have looked at closely by any mechanic I take it to. Are there any recurring issues with this year and model?
Rubber is almost always ignored but as a whole the various bushings and mounts have a big impact on NVH. That's engine and tranny mounts, control arm bushings, leaf spring/shackle bushings, bump stops and coil spring isolators.