1996 Cherokee 4L manual - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Non-Technical Forum > 1996 Cherokee 4L manual

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Unread 09-10-2013, 01:36 AM   #16
moggie99
1996 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKIQPilot View Post
What are you doing in Abu Dhabi?
As little as possible, of course! Actually I work as a flight simulator instructor at a flying school in Al Ain, in Abu Dhabi emirate. I'm an ex-Royal Air Force pilot

moggie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2013, 11:01 AM   #17
moggie99
1996 ZJ 

Sept 17:

Next stage in the attempt to keep it cool:

On the last three or four trips out the XJ has cutout due to an overheated Powertrain Control Module (the engine management computer). Once it had cooled down it started and ran alright - but spending 15-20 minutes in the hot sun, melting icecubes on a scorching PCM is not really what it's all about.

One problem that causes this can be faulty electrical capacitors in the PCM (3 capacitors in total). One solutions is to spend about $500 buying and shipping in a new PCM but a search on the internet threw up guidance about replacing these capacitors at a total cost of under $10 including shipping. So guess which option I went for! Last night I replaced the capacitors with new, upgraded ones, a job which took about 2 hours whilst working at a "relaxed" pace. The Jeep runs OK and after I thrashed it up the local mountain (Jebel Hafeet) to get it nice and hot it still started on the first turn of the key. However, I need a proper desert run to see if can break it again