Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

01 XJ Limited First Time Build

6K views 109 replies 11 participants last post by  chris87xj 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all!
This is my first time posting and registering but ive been looking and searching the forums for a while now!
im looking to lift my XJ 3" to give it a more aggressive look
but my delima is that I dont know what I may end up needing to do
my jeep is my DD and when I can afford it will put 31s on it
not looking to do Off-road only, but have the option to
I will mainly be driving highway

I know I will need longer brake lines, new shocks/coils
but any suggestions on what I should buy/use?

NOTE: my XJ is STOCK

thank you! and have a great day! :thumbsup:

#73 ·
Eh, consider why people are selling them. The true wide look comes when you can get to 33's on 15x10's. I used to be real big on the wide look, but have come to like where I'm at.

Automotive parking light Tire Wheel Vehicle registration plate Car

Even this tucked in, looks like this once you've got clearance.

Wheel Automotive parking light Tire Land vehicle Automotive side marker light

Wet weather leaves you with 20ft pinwheels if your out from under the flares.

#75 ·
If you give up turn radius, you're debilitating your abilities on the trail and off. I realize you're looking for a way to run your stock rims without being tucked in, but here's the other issue. If you put 31x10.50's on your narrow, stock rims, your tread will wear down the center cuz the tread will be arched like this U, which will half-life the tires. A 15x8 rim will lay the tread flat on the road like this L . Full road/tread contact disperses the weight/sq.inch. the tread will last much longer.
Do what you need/want to do, but be aware of these differentials.

#76 ·
S8NNG8 said: