Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

01 XJ Limited First Time Build

6K views 109 replies 11 participants last post by  chris87xj 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all!
This is my first time posting and registering but ive been looking and searching the forums for a while now!
im looking to lift my XJ 3" to give it a more aggressive look
but my delima is that I dont know what I may end up needing to do
my jeep is my DD and when I can afford it will put 31s on it
not looking to do Off-road only, but have the option to
I will mainly be driving highway

I know I will need longer brake lines, new shocks/coils
but any suggestions on what I should buy/use?

NOTE: my XJ is STOCK

thank you! and have a great day! :thumbsup:

#2 · (Edited)
Also after doing some research, I've found what I think to be what some of my specs are (taken directly from EricsXJ -Cherokee stock specs)

AXLE: Dana 35 c-clip - 27 spline, 1.18" diameter shafts, 7.58" ring gear, 2.62" axle tube - used 90-01
OR Chrysler 8.25 - 29 spline, 1.21" diameter shafts, 8.25" ring gear, 3" axle tube - used 97-01

DRIVESHAFT:
FRONT: 87-01 XJs (NP231/242 t-case) the front is a "double cardan" two-piece driveshaft with a CV joint at the transfer case end.
REAR: The rear is a one-piece shaft with standard u-joints at both ends. The slip yoke is located on the output shaft of the transfer
case. On 96-01 due to a design change, the slip yoke is external (does not slide in and out of the transfer case).
This slip yoke is covered with a rubber boot.

TRANSMISSION: AW4 - 4 speed automatic, electronically controlled - manufactured by Aisin - used from 87-01
(87-91 models include a Power/Comfort button that adjusts the shift points)

#3 ·
If I could start from scratch on my jeep again I would just leave it as is and save until I decided what I actually wanted to end up with and had the money to do it right the first time. I know personally how impossible it is to own a jeep and not throw money at it. Start with skid plates or bumpers.

#4 ·