Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

TJ Internet legends and myths

16K views 167 replies 53 participants last post by  Necromancer_tat 
#1 ·
Some of the same stuff gets perpetuated over and over. Just because you read it or wrote it doesn't mean its true. Here's a couple that irk me... feel free to add your favorites on...

1. The 4.0 is a tractor motor and is incapable of making power.

2. The 4.0 doesn't need ZDDP. I have been using Valvoline for 30 years and my grandpappy used it before that and we were always fine.

3. You need 17" rims to get good brakes. 15" rims are to small.

4. You can't hang your brake calipers by the hose or else you will FUBAR your brakes, go off the road and die.

5. You need to monitor the ATF temp coming out of the torque convertor in order to accurately know what your trans temp is.

6. Long arms ride and articulate better than short arms.

7. Shock and suspension uptravel is not needed in a Jeep... its a Jeep...we are crawling, not driving fast (refer back to irk number 1).

...and last but not least.. my favorite of late....

8. Cooler connections always need to be pointed up because the average Jeeper is not competent to properly bleed a system. If mounted down or sideways, you will FUBAR your system, go off the road and die.

See less See more
#3 ·
Some of the same stuff gets perpetuated over and over. Just because you read it or wrote it doesn't mean its true. Here's a couple that irk me... feel free to add your favorites on...

2. The 4.0 doesn't need ZDDP. I have been using Valvoline for 30 years and my grandpappy used it before that and we were always fine.

4. You can't hang your brake calipers by the hose or else you will FUBAR your brakes, go off the road and die.

5. You need to monitor the ATF temp coming out of the torque convertor in order to accurately know what your trans temp is.

7. Shock and suspension uptravel is not needed in a Jeep... its a Jeep...we are crawling, not driving fast (refer back to irk number 1).