Problem - Soft Top opens on the sides - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > Wrangler General Discussion > Problem - Soft Top opens on the sides

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Flush Mount LED Bumper Lights, CREE

Unread 12-22-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
sesteva

Problem - Soft Top opens on the sides

Hi all,
My name is Santiago. Im a happy Jeep newbie. I had my Jeep for a year now. It is a 2 door Jeep Wrangler Sport S 2013. I live in Fort Worth TX.
Hard top was already set when I got the Jeep. It took me quite a lot of effort to uninstall the hard and assemble and install the soft top. I did not know the hard top would be that heavy. Is it because of the motor on the back?
So Ive been using the soft top for the last 6 months and now winter and snow storm really hit us last week. It is rather cold and now an issue that I had for a while is becoming a real problem.
Whenever Im driving above 20 mph, I start to feel a cold breeze on my neck. As I look on the side mirrors, I can see how the soft top starts to flap where it meets vertically with the doors. If you would be observing the jeep from the front, you would see Dumbo wide open ears taking all the wind on the sides. That part of the top is supposed to be trapped by the door but it is not.
Have you encountered the same problem? Can you think of any possible solution?

Thank you. Santiago

sesteva is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
2jhanna
Web Wheeler
2002 TJ Wrangler 

On TJ wranglers, we have door surrounds that the side panel windows clip into.
Unread 12-22-2013, 02:38 PM   #3
2jhanna
Web Wheeler
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Do you have and did you use the door surrounds ?
Unread 12-22-2013, 04:53 PM   #4
ncb