To lock on the wheels, or to not lock on the wheels? That is the question. - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 02-12-2017, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Crackerjack4u
1999 TJ Wrangler 

To lock on the wheels, or to not lock on the wheels? That is the question.

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to the Jeep world. I have my spare sitting in the garage for the moment, but plan to put it on the back of my Jeep Wrangler soon.

I'm curious to find out what those of you who have driven a Jeep for years think about the wheel locks with the keys. Are these worth the money, or just something else to cost us more money, and cause us more problems along the way?

We will be towing our Jeep behind our RV to various areas, and if we don't use the wheel locks on the spare we will probably just put a cable lock on it, but the other tires won't be locked, unless we use the wheel locks, or something on them.

Is the spare the main one at risk of being stolen? LOL In our small KY town there's not a lot of Jeep wheel thieves lurking around, but I'm sure in the bigger cities we'll be traveling to that it could be possible. In our little town we could sit the tires out front, and they'd still be there a month from now, and might have 2 or 3 more added to them by a neighbor, but unfortunately not everywhere is like that. I know we won't stop a thief if they want them, regardless of what we do, but making it a little more difficult for them is the plan.

Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated. Thank You, and Have a Wonderful Day!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 02-12-2017, 04:24 PM
biffgnar

2006 TJ Wrangler