Jeep rollover statistics? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > Wrangler General Discussion > Jeep rollover statistics?

SALE PRICING, Specials, Huge Savings Alloy USA and Posi-LoFord Explorer 8.8 4340 Chromoly Axle Shaft Kit C Clip ElimStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 05-24-2009, 07:27 PM   #1
WranglerRush
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Jeep rollover statistics?

So I have been driving Jeeps for a few years now and I have never owned a car. I feel like jeeps are actually safer than sports cars for a few reasons. I do not speed in my jeep, whereas if I had a mustang or something I would probably already have mulitple speeding tickets and would be racing all over town. I also where my seatbelt because I never have a top or doors on. If I was in a sports car I probably would not be wearing a seat belt.

Anyways, I want to prove to people that jeeps are not 'accident prone" and don't rollover all the time like many ignorant parents think when not letting their kids get Jeeps. I know SUV's have a higher rollover ratio than cars, but people act like Jeeps are the unsafest vehicle on the road.

I want facts, statistics, anything to prove that Jeeps don't rollover anymore than other SUV's such as ford explorers or other popular SUV's that teenagers drive.

Unread 05-24-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
jay-h
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Cars vary enormously in their behavior. And they vary in their design priorities. If rollover is your only concern, it's damned hard to roll a Porsche 911 or a Vette. And a lot easier to roll a van or a Jeep. But then you'd be nuts to try to take corners in a Jeep the way you do in a Porsche.