JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Wrangler General Discussion (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f176/)
-   -   Buying a used Wrangler (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f176/buying-used-wrangler-1546452/)

aidanb1205 07-08-2013 10:18 AM

Buying a used Wrangler

Hi everybody,
I am going to get my license within the year and I have been researching cars for several months and stumbled upon the Jeep wrangler. I have researched them for about two weeks and they seem to fit my life style. I was just wondering what model, year, style, etc. to get. I know that I want one past 97' with a manual transmission, because I am not going to wuss out and get an automatic, and one six cylinder engine. If you guys could help me out that would be great.

frenchy206 07-08-2013 10:28 AM

A TJ (97 - 06) will be your best bet. Check for rust on the frame and all under the Jeep. If you plan on doing some mild off roading, nothing crazy, a Rubicon will give you better axles, front and rear lockers, and a little body armor. Rubicons also tend to hold their value a little more than a non Rubicon. That being said, they also cost more.

jjvw 07-08-2013 11:15 AM

Agreed on looking at a TJ. If you can, get the 4.0 engine. After that, look for D44 axles. Do understand that you will never get over 20mpg. 15mpg is a good average.

ANY Jeep will be fine for mild off roading, nothing crazy. An '03 Rubicon will immediately bump you to at least the $14-16,000 range. I've taken my stock Rubicon through several moderate to medium trails in Colorado and never needed to lock the axles, far from it. Learn to be a good driver before getting too deep into the fancy upgrades.

speedyrev 07-08-2013 05:47 PM

Don't write off the automatic. A lot of people think they're better for off road.

aidanb1205 07-08-2013 06:14 PM