Opinions on a Jeep! newbie here. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > Opinions on a Jeep! newbie here.

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDJK Front 3 Link Prototype - Clayton Off Road

Unread 03-11-2014, 08:04 PM   #1
Mrkg

Opinions on a Jeep! newbie here.

Hello all,

Finally started working a job where I am making enough money (engineering internship) to buy my first car. Of course I always wanted a wrangler since I was a kid, so I refuse to get anything but that.

Here is the deal and I want some honest opinions. I found a post on craigslist for an 05 wrangler sport TJ with 60,000 miles. But it does have a salvage title ( a tree fell on it and hit the hard top, door and hood, no engine damage.) The owner managed to fix it up in great condition and it a beautiful impact orange with a bikini top, (Ill have to buy a soft top and would appreciate recommendations) and looks great. He is selling it for 11,9000 or 12,500 after i buy the softtop and he seems like a honest seller. The kicker was I called him asking if it had the death wobble and since he only drove it in the summer on back roads he didnt know, sure enough it did. So he is fixing that now and I hope to god he calls me after it is fixed so I can buy it. Does it sound like a good deal? or will trying to trade it in down the road for a new wrangler be a killer because of the title?
Thanks, from a future fellow Jeeper.

Mrkg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-12-2014, 08:02 AM   #2
Zombi
1999 TJ Wrangler 

I'd stay away from anything with a salvage title TBH.
Salvage titles don't happen from seemingly minor body damage like that.