Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Old Jeep advice please!

652 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  WDNewman 
#1 ·
I decided months ago I wanted to buy an older Jeep. I've been reading, learning and thinking about it and watching the ads for many weeks.

I want a Jeep as a utility vehicle, to use around the acreage and to take on weekend jaunts. I specifically wanted an older Jeep (70s/80s) because I want a simple vehicle that doesn't have a lot of technology.

I had kind of decided on a CJ7 as I'm kinda tall. But an ad appeared for a late 70s CJ5 that sounded like a dream come true. "rebuild from the ground up" it claimed and while I would not call what this Jeep got a "restoration" as that has a specific meaning, it was clear this guy took the thing apart and put it back together with mostly new parts.

He was asking a fair price even. I was all set - until I drove it.

Now, here is where I need advice. This was the first Jeep I have driven. I'm a pretty good shadetree mechanic and I know cars. I did not expect this thing to be refined in any way but I certainly wasn't expecting what I found.

First and foremost, this thing did not want to go straight at any speed. There was a boatload of play in the steering. The guy said he had replaced tie rods, bushings etc, but frankly the steering was so bad I would not be comfortable taking this thing on the highway.

Now again, I was not expecting this to drive like a late model car. I've been driving since the 70s and I've driven some crap cars.

Here is my question. Is this to be expected in a well-maintained 78 CJ5? This again is my first drive. I live in the boonies and finding a suitable Jeep for sale within 50 miles is a challenge. Does this thing need a steering gearbox? Or do I need an attitude adjustment?

Thanks in advance for any advice you may have to offer!

See less See more
#2 ·
techanic said: