Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

New Jeep Buyer here! Got some questions.

2K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  WK2rookie 
#1 ·
So I'm 17 and I have saved up some money (My parents are helping me as well a bit) to get a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2016, I've always wanted one so I could get into off roading, and aesthetically I really love the way they look and I enjoy the history behind them. I would use it for camping, off roading, and my daily commute to school and work. Things like that.

I'm a little clueless, but I eventually want to put some upgrades into it like a lift and some body stuff.
So I guess the question is what is the difference between the Sport and the Sport S and if I got a base model (Sport) would I eventually be able to do "everything" through 3rd party modifications down the road? And if I shouldn't get either Sport, or Sport S and go towards another model.

Thanks!

(Edit: Sorry if I'm using wrong terminology or whatever, I'm new to everything :laugh2:)

#5 ·
So question for you bud. Why a NEW one? I get wanting something thats only been yours and having it shiny new. But you could get more for your money on one that is used and well taken care of. It takes a little more to find and make sure it is a good buy but for the price of what you pay for a stock new one, you could get more vehicle, and get something that has the base customizations you would want to start with. You just need to do some research and pick one out that has what you want and is in good shape.

I also picked up my first Wrangler (2016 Unlimited black bear edition) and have already put in $2k in mods and already have another $1k on my immediate list of stuff and I have not even gotten to the truely expensive lift kits and light kits. I am 40 and have the cash to do it, but at 17, if I was to do this, I would spend less on the base getting a used one with SOME of the mods I want, then have more cash for mods to make it yours.
Agree with both members!

#4 ·