Lookin' to get first jeep...thoughts? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > Lookin' to get first jeep...thoughts?

Dana 30 Truss for your TJ, LJ, ZJ, and XJFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 12-24-2013, 01:13 PM   #1
jpcobe

Lookin' to get first jeep...thoughts?

So, this will seem long, and maybe I'm over thinking this but just bear with me. I love CJ5/CJ6 style. I'm on a budget (not willing to borrow). I have no mechanical experience (some woodworking...very limited); but I really want to learn. My Grandpa always said, basically, just do it then.

Here's my considerations.

1. I'm military. I've moved 6 times in the last twelve years. I'll probably move 6 more. I need something easily towed (I figure most jeeps are, but maybe I'm mistaken).

2. Family. I've got two kids, couple of dogs, and of course, a wife. Kids are 8 and 12. Never been wheeling, but I'm from Missouri and love being out in the woods.

3. Pragmatic romantic. Basically, I love open tops (had a Camaro with T-tops in high school), but I love being able to go anywhere...I think Jeep is right up my alley. I know I have limits both financially and mechanically; both of which can be overcome with the right Jeep.

4. Not a daily driver, but will be used often. Wife's got an '03 Durango 4x4 with 132k and we love it. We'll drive it till it dies, revive it, and drive it some more. I have an '02 F150 4x4 with 80k. Both paid for.

5. Concerns. CJ5 will haul my family, but nothing more. CJ6 or CJ8 will do both, but seem to be expensive (I guess because of the rarity). LJ's are too new; I can't buy one outright. JK, same problem, and I'm not a huge fan. CJ7/YJ/TJ, same problem as CJ5 probably.