Jeep noob looking for advice - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > Jeep noob looking for advice

XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 08-15-2013, 04:55 PM   #1
teedubbaya

1983 CJ7 

Jeep noob looking for advice

I am totally new to Jeeps. I've been poking around the forums for a few days looking for information on what to look for and stay away from in a CJ-7. Can you say "analysis paralysis"? I don't know what to think! Dana-this, locker-that.
Does anybody have any red flag items that should immediately scare me away from a purchase of a CJ-7? Frame rust is a biggie, obviously. But what else? I saw a thread on bad SOA and steering mods...yikes.
I'm mainly looking for something to get me up to the trailhead over pretty rough roads in the Montana and Wyoming mountains. There are a number of CJ-7s on CL in the area, anywhere from a rust bucket/project, to beautiful ones that I can't afford.
For instance, here's a listing that looks interesting:
http://bozeman.craigslist.org/cto/3955338456.html It's a little more than I want to pay, but if it's a solid unit, I'd be willing to stretch the budget a little.
I'm not planning on rock hopping, so this may be overkill. But I just have no idea what's a good price, and what's a bad price. Obviously, you guys can't tell from a few pictures, but I'm curious if you would even consider one like this at that asking price.