Gears for Snow & Plowing in a special application - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 Old 12-02-2009, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Night_Sailor

Gears for Snow & Plowing in a special application

This is a bit complicated so bear with me...

I've done quite a bit of 4 wheeling in deep, deep snow, and also plow work with 3/4 and 1 ton P/U's. Four wheeling for me is all 80% deep snow performance, 10% ice, and 10% muddy logging roads.

I have no experience with Jeeps. I've rebuild just about everything on a car except automatic transmissions and differentials--I'm clueless on both subjects.

I need something much more maneuverable, like a Wrangler for some of the nasty complicated driveways that no one else wants to do around here--and also for cleanup work following a K3500 D/A mason dump with a Fisher Plow.

Wranglers have strong frames, can take a beating, and can turn on a dime. My other options is to take a 3/4 K2500 HD D/A and remove the bed and shorten the frame.

I am also a turbo-diesel fanatic and I'm tired of waiting for something to come out with a diesel that will do what I want. I have to build what I want.

I am thinking about building up a Wrangler for plowing. I test drove one last year and the turning radius was amazing--perfect for what I need.

I require a hardtop and heat, not a soft-top and cold drafty air.

I'll be driving it:

1) Mostly around town on the street. 99% on paved surfaces.
2) Commercial plowing-driveways and cleanup work.
3) In deep snow even when not plowing.
4) At freeway speeds in the mountains. (possibly with propane injection for more power when needed)
5) On easy logging trails--places that I could mostly get around on two wheel drive most of the time unless it is wet or muddy.
6) Possible rare trip to Mexico to play in the sand.