College Student / Army ROTC Cadet, 1st Jeep Expert advice please - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > College Student / Army ROTC Cadet, 1st Jeep Expert advice please

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 07-04-2012, 07:17 PM   #1
gojack

College Student / Army ROTC Cadet, 1st Jeep Expert advice please

I'm a college student and Army ROTC cadet-
I've no experience, and I have no background in mechanics
I'm starting my second year at Alabama in the fall
very interested in getting into off-roading
I have $10K saved for my first Jeep
I'm thinking I should get one that has been lifted and modded already
this will also be my daily driver I do prefer manual transmissions
what should I get?

Thanks in advance

gojack is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
ramthis426
2005 WK 

If you want a manual you don't really have a choice other then a wrangler. And You can't go wrong with a rubicon ^_^
ramthis426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
Texas ZJ1
Jeep Jedi Master

1994 ZJ 

As a previous ROTC instructor....buy a cheap TJ. Realize that you should only go "muddin or rock crawling" as fast as you can pay for repairs. There should be several Jeeps in that college town that Daddy's little girl drove and didn't like after it started getting hot down south.

Hunter

94 5.9 Laredo 6.5 RE lift with 35 Maxxis Bighorns
and 33 Bridgestone Duelers
Detroit and true trac
Red Jeep Club Member
REDNECK JCM
Texas Jeep Owner #6
USN Jeep Club #4
http://www.kevinsoffroad.com/

For your performance needs:

kolak@kolakperformance.com
Texas ZJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2012, 11:13 PM   #4
Texas ZJ1