Buying CJ5 Advice Needed - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > Buying CJ5 Advice Needed

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 09-15-2013, 11:25 AM   #1
Kel1

Buying CJ5 Advice Needed

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here but not new to Jeeps. Eons ago (20 years) I owned a CJ5 and loved it! Most recently I've owned a 99 Cherokee and currently I own a 05 Grand Cherokee. I love the classic cars and of course that includes the older jeeps. I also have a 71 Chevelle but find I'm not driving it in the summer as much and would get more use out of a CJ5.

So I'm looking to buy a CJ5 and from what I have researched I've narrowed it down to a 78-79 year model. Correct me please if I'm wrong but I read that from 78 on they were a little wider? Not sure if I'm correct on that but there was some important reason that I focused on it being at least a 78 on up year model.

I do like the CJ5's shorter wheel base also so I've ruled out the CJ7's.

I'd like it to be a summer cruiser but also use it for crawling around on Northern Michigan sand dunes.

Is there anything specific I should look for as far as things like;

What is the best engine in your opinion?
How much "lift" is good and how much is too much?
Any peticular suspension I should look for?
Is original better than fiberglass? Or does it matter?