Buyers guide for what to look for in a ZJ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > Buyers guide for what to look for in a ZJ?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 10-11-2008, 08:06 PM   #1
fmalgapo

Buyers guide for what to look for in a ZJ?

Hey guys,

1st time posting here and I am new to the Jeep world.
I am currently searching for an inexpensive winter mobile for my wife and I. Based on price and previous driving experience, we chose the ZJ.

Although I've driven them when new, its been 11 years and I do not know what to look out for.

So far I've looked at 2, both 4.0L i6's Laredos and under 100k.

The 1998 Laredo SE we looked at was at a local dealer, has a sunroof, but had a little surface rust under the hood at the lip edge and similar areas on the tailgate. It drove OK but seems like it may needs shocks as it exhibited a little body roll and some noise over bumps. The dealer is including a complimentary 90-day warranty on engine/trans/4wd if we purchase it. They are asking $4900. The Carfax search indicated it had 2 reported accidents but clear title. The interior was a little dirty and the driver side leather seat had a tear in the left bolster.