97 TJ carfax issue - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Buying Forum > 97 TJ carfax issue

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 12-09-2007, 09:26 PM   #1
Stuicism
1997 TJ Wrangler 

97 TJ carfax issue

So I have been browsing the forums for almost 2 months now as I have been looking for a Jeep in the right price range. I am pretty sure I have found the right one and will be looking at it on Thursday. The only problem is with the carfax I just ran. It isn't really that bad, but there are a few things I need opinions on.

1) The first owner was classified as "corporate fleet lease".
Does this just mean it was used as a company car?

2) This is the one that has me a little worried. The car is listed as "NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE TITLE ISSUED". Now normally this would be a red flag for me BUT the odd thing is that this is listed 2 months after the car was first bought. Let me give a timeline:

07/15/1996 -- Car was registered as corporate lease vehicle
07/31/1996 -- First title issued / first owner reported
09/03/1996 -- NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE TITLE ISSUED "mileage after this point is potentially unreliable"

After that it is just normal mileage increments and no more issues.

The car has 103k miles now and it is a 97. The history shows that between 2000 - 2003 the car was sold between dealers not acquiring much mileage so the mileage isn't unreasonable at all.

Basically I just want you guys to confirm that this doesn't look like a big issue and it probably was something stupid.