1998 Sahara Questions - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-18-2010, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
joepa518

1998 Sahara Questions

hey, im new to the jeep forums and am considering buying a TJ for my first vehicle. I have found a 1998 Sahara with the 4.0L straight six, it is also a 5 speed. This jeep has a three inch lift and 33s and some upgrades such as exhaust and air filter. it also says it has a full size offroad jack, i am not really sure what that is? also it has almost 160,000 miles on it. It is quite a ways away from where i live but i have family in the town where it is and will be able to go check it out sometime in the next month if it is still available. What im wondering is what to look for, how much rust is too much, will there be any complications ecause of the lift? what to listen for with the motor? to make sure its all good? and is 160xxx too many miles on one of these? what should i expect? thanks for everything ~joe

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-18-2010, 06:33 PM
jonrjen
2011 KK Liberty 

I recommend start reading here..
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f165/...t-here-523324/
This is a wealth of free information. As for the Jeep you are looking at 160,000 miles is getting up there. Unless you will have money to invest into the TJ for needed repairs and issues you may want to keep looking. Another question to ask your self is, are you experianced at turning a wrench and doing repairs yourself? Or are you willing to jump in and learn how to work on a future Jeep product you may own.
A full size jack most likely means a Handyman jack rather than a bottle or scissor style jack.
Take your time and look at a number of Wranglers before you jump and buy one.

"If you have a difficult job to do....Give it to a lazy man....He'll find the easy way to do it."
post #3 of 5 Old 09-18-2010, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
joepa518