4WD Question - Hope this is the correct place - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South East USA > 4WD Question - Hope this is the correct place

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 05-06-2009, 10:33 PM   #1
gasrat
2005 LJ Wrangler 

4WD Question - Hope this is the correct place

Hope this doesn't come across as a dumb question as I am new to the jeep thing, but here goes.

I will be traveling to a farm in a few weeks to hunt Coyotes. We have had rain here in KY like you never seen. So during my trip, I will have to tackle a incline that looks to be about 30 degrees maybe a little more. Not very steep, but a constant incline for about 100 yards to the top of a ridge.

The road appears to be smooth, and could be much dryer before I have to go up it. My question is what range of 4WD should I start the climb in? If the hill is dry when I arrive it should not be a problem at all. I am asking my question, assuming the hill might be wet when I go yote shooting.

I have seen the use of 4L 2nd, 3rd etc....Am I understanding this correctly to mean 4 low in 2nd and 3rd gear?

Basically what I would like to know is what low range should I attempt the hill in. Now mind you this isn't a bluff, but it could be very saturated, but appears to be quite smooth. I don't think there is any ruts anywhere, but I want to be on the safe side when I start up the hill as to not have to change gears in a 6-speed manual.

The vehicle is a 2005 Rubicon Unlimited equipped with the factory Goodyear MT/R tires...

Any help is appreciated. Thanks and have a good day.

Quick Reply

Register Now