Trails around Kansas City, MO - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South Central USA > Trails around Kansas City, MO

Jeep Wrangler Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontJeep Grand Cherokee Window RegulatorComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 09-28-2008, 11:56 AM   #1
officerholbrook
2012 JK Wrangler 

Trails around Kansas City, MO

Hello all,
I am the proud new owner of a 2001 TJ Wrangler and I am really new to this Jeep thing and I was looking for good (legal) places to go off-roading around here. I am located around the northland area I-29 and I-35 for you KC people. Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Oh, and if anyone would like to go with that would be great too. (hoping to take this thing off road before winter hits, which if your from KC you know could be anytime now!)

Unread 10-02-2008, 08:33 AM   #2
jagular7
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Check out your local 4wd clubs and shops. There really isn't any 'local' wheeling areas to the KC metro. There are several 4wd parks within couple hours of driving.

Clubs: kcjeepclub.org, kc4wda.net are ones I belong to. Each has a meeting and club ride once a month. Both clubs camp and wheel at the local parks as well as other wheeling areas within 4-5 hour drive.
Parks:
- kanrockspark.com is a private park near Ft. Scott (83 miles from my driveway). Open weekends only, minimum fee to enter.
- Tuttle Creek, Randolph, KS (outside Manhattan) is a park open to atvs and 4wds. Its operated by Army Corp.
- SMORR (Southern Missouri Off Road Ranch) smorr.net is a private park as well 1 hour east of Springfield, MO.

Then there is Disney, OK, Poteau, OK, and Arkansas trails, all within 5 hr drive.