Suspension lift vs suspension travel? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Tires & Wheels > Suspension lift vs suspension travel?

** FALL SALE on all Jeep Optic Armor Windshields **Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 03-08-2007, 07:41 AM   #1
Z0RR0

Suspension lift vs suspension travel?

This may sound like a complete noobish and silly question ... but here goes.

Is there a rule of thumb to figure out how much more suspension travel a lift gives you? I'm talking proper suspension lift, obviously, no body lift, BB or blocks.

Are all lift kits designed with this in mind? Let's say I get a 4", I'll get the longer springs (duh), but are the shocks designed to use the extra height as travel? What I wouldn't want, would be to stand 4" taller, with no more suspension travel. That would suck.

Hope this wasn't too messy of a question ....

Z0RR0 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-08-2007, 08:04 AM   #2
mudmonkey2400
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0RR0
This may sound like a complete noobish and silly question ... but here goes.

Is there a rule of thumb to figure out how much more suspension travel a lift gives you? I'm talking proper suspension lift, obviously, no body lift, BB or blocks.

Are all lift kits designed with this in mind? Let's say I get a 4", I'll get the longer springs (duh), but are the shocks designed to use the extra height as travel? What I wouldn't want, would be to stand 4" taller, with no more suspension travel. That would suck.

Hope this wasn't too messy of a question ....