Steel or Alloy Wheels - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Tires & Wheels > Steel or Alloy Wheels

Jeep LED Light Lights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955Ledlight bar light locks @ oconee off road 706 534 9955Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 03-09-2011, 03:40 PM   #31
BlueFlame
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoteTrax View Post
I am new to the Jeep world and am learning a lot by reading comments on this forum, thanks.

I put a 3.25" lift on my TJ and wanted to go with 33" tires. I have a Dana 44 with 3.73 gears, 4.0 with 5 speed. Still researching tires and wheels.

1) If I go with 33" tires, will I loose significant power? Looking at Goodyear Duratracks.

2) Steel wheels seem to cost about half of an Alloy wheel but I understand Steel weighs considerably more. Is it worth the extra cost for Alloy wheels in order to keep the extra weight off? Looking at ProComp.

I spend time in the mountains, on non-maintained roads, crossing creeks, over small downed trees and branches. I would like to try some rock crawling in the future but probably not a regular thing for me.

I would appreciate the advise.
Until you start getting hardcore, barring accidents, get what you like or can afford. But the remarks in this thread concerning the drawbacks of steel are spot on.

It will be okay with 33s and 3.73s, but not optimal. Lots of guys have that setup, some of them are even happy with it. But 4.56 is much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blacksmith View Post
alloys tend to leak more, go steel.
NOt since 1964.

BlueFlame is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2011, 03:20 AM   #32
The_Blacksmith
1993 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueFlame View Post