Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Pizza cutter tires: pros and cons

13K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  Ed209 
#1 ·
So what are the advantages and disadvantages of tall skinny tires? I am specifically looking at the 35x10 TSL SXII tires. This set of tires would hardly see any road miles, so on road characteristics doesn't really matter. I am thinking this would help keep the tires off the control arms but still give me some more ground clearance (I am currently running 33x12.5 TSLs) while not killing the D30, but not sure if it would hurt off road performance with a skinnier tire.

#7 ·
I bought 33X10" tires for my WK because I want to keep all the turning radius I can, and I believe they are better in the terrain I run. Haven't gotten the lift on yet, so can't give a personal assessment, but I did study the question of width for many hours, and I'm an engineer so I'm pretty good at sorting out reasons that matter to me from personal preference of an author, or an application they have but I don't.

Many people buy their tires for looks, and wide tires look tougher than narrow tires to most people. I'm not immune to how my vehicle looks, but I also think 10" wide mud tread looks pretty tough. You also have very few options for narrow tires, unless your rim size is 15". My WK needs 17" rims minimum to clear the brakes, so I found only a few options that were 10.5" or less.
Looking at articles where a scientific approach was taken, narrower tires almost always do better off-road, and where they don't it's a negligible difference. For things like jeeps, on road you will notice they don't wander in the ruts as bad (I have seen this personally on several rigs), they don't bump steer as bad, and they don't pull in the water puddles as bad. Many people intuitively think you get a bigger footprint with a wider tire, but that is not true at the same psi.