Jeep noob! need some direction - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Tires & Wheels > Jeep noob! need some direction

ARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan KitsPoison Spyder DeFender Inner Fender KitsCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 06-20-2013, 12:13 PM   #1
Take_My_Top_Off
2007 JK Wrangler 

Tires? Regearing?

First off, I am new to the Jeep world and addicted already. I've been doing a lot of research of what I need but I can't find what I need specifically. I don't know much about vehicles in general, but I want to learn.

I just bought a 2007 Wrangler Unlimited X a couple weeks ago. It has a 3.5 in suspension lift, 35/12.50 on 17in rims. It definitely needs new tires. The question is if I get tires for a 16 rim then get 16 in rims, will that effect anything else? What is regearing and do I need to do it? Should I get a larger tire to make up for smaller rims? I'm looking at the Maxxis BigHorn or the Dick Cepek Mud Country. Both in 35s preferably. I want to keep the same tire size. This will be a daily driver as well as some off roading but I need it to perform well for both.

I'm not sure what all has been replaced because when i got this I didn't know that so many things were effected by lifting it. Otherwise I would have checked into it more at the time, but honestly I was just in a hurry to have it as my own. Also, it has the death wobble but thats another issue for another day.

Last edited by Take_My_Top_Off; 06-20-2013 at 07:13 PM..
Take_My_Top_Off is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-23-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
5spdftw
2002 TJ Wrangler 

First off, I'm not sure that 16" wheels will clear the JK brakes. That's a question for someone else.