BFG M/t KM1 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Tires & Wheels > BFG M/t KM1

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 03-08-2015, 02:35 PM   #1
AFguy247
2005 WK 

BFG M/t KM1

I found these BF Goodrich M/T T/A KM1 on tire rack for 795 shipped. I've also found some Maxxis Bighorn Owl for 750 shipped on a different website. What would be the better all around tire? The KM1 is 255/75/17 and the Bighorn is 265/70/17

KM1 http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....MTAKM&i1_Qty=4

Maxxis http://www.onlinetires.com/products/...horn++owl.html

I'm just hesitant on the Maxxis because i've never used them or heard of them before.

Unread 03-08-2015, 04:07 PM   #2
electrolime
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Keep in mind the KMs are discontinued so it will be a serious PITA to track down one or two in the future.
Unread 03-09-2015, 02:50 PM   #3
000shock
1994 ZJ 

I've ran the km1's (x2 sets) and the bighorns, both in 35x12.50r15's, and I liked them both. The bfg's I wheeled a lot more on, mostly mud and wooded trails, and they did great IMO. For a more mild mt anyways. The bighorns did about the same offroad, if not a little better. I didn't have them long (sold the rig) but I would get them again. The maxxis were quite a bit louder on the roads if that makes a difference to you.

Sounds like the bfg's your lookin at are the rubicon take offs. If that's correct, I wouldn't worry much about not finding them in the future. They will be around as long as they are a factory option tire. Slightly diff tread than the actual km1's but they call them the same. If your on the roads more, I'd go bfg. More of a wheeler, go for the maxxis!