backspacing - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Tires & Wheels > backspacing

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits

Unread 04-14-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
ridgecounty

backspacing

hey im new to buying tires ans wheel but i just put a rough country 4in suspension lift on my jeep wangler 97 it recommends a backspacing of 4.5 but the wheels im getting have a backspacing of 5.9 will that fit? or am i going to have to get wheel spacer if so how big?

ridgecounty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2013, 09:56 PM   #2
KyleSekora
1997 ZJ 

hey, i was having the same problem about an hour ago. I think i finally figured it out though, after about an hour of research lol. That isn't enough backspacing. You would need 1.5 in wheel spacers in order to be able to run those tires with that wheel. Are you buying those wheels now? If so, I would recommend just buying a wheel you like with 4.5 inches of backspacing already. Hope this helps.
_.(o)_)__(o)_)---)_)
KyleSekora is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2013, 10:08 PM   #3
KyleSekora
1997 ZJ 

Backspacing is the amount of space between the mounting surface (spot on the rim where the wheel studs go through) to the edge of the rim. So the higher the backspacing number the further in the wheel well the wheel will sit, and the lower the backspacing number the further the wheel will stick out from the jeep. So what I did to figure out what size spacer you need is I took your current back spacing (6) and subtracted the recommended backspacing amount (4.5) and I got that you needed a 1.5 in spacer.