Zj Transfer Case Problem Help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Zj Transfer Case Problem Help!

FLASH SALE! Open thread to reveil the Newest Sale @ ROCKRIIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 04-05-2015, 08:53 AM   #1
CoreyZj
1993 ZJ 

Zj Transfer Case Problem Help!

So i just wanted to start by saying i'm new to this form and the jeep scene so please bare with me and hello all fellow Jeepers! So i have read a lot about transfer case problems and know there is a lot of post on this form and yes i've read a lot of them but still cant seem to fix my problem. I am starting to fear i may just end up needed to buy a new transfer case.

When i first got my jeep it was stuck in 4WD High yes it still runs and drives and doesn't crab walk to bad i would like to fix this before i break something else.

Things i've tried-
Looked over vacuum lines they all looked fine and no leaks that i can see i will do a more detailed look today.
Tried the whole dirt road 10mph Neutral then shift out of 4WD and it didn't help still wouldn't move.
I have tried putting it into other gears it will go into Neutral and 4WD low but sometimes it will grind and doesn't want to stay in gear.
I checked the linkage cable plastic bushing and changed it didn't really help.
It also doesn't seem like my leaver is being stopped by anything causing it not to move into 2WD.
I filled and check all my tires and tire pressure everything is set to same PSI and all tires are same size and width.
I still haven't checked the fluid of even tried to change it yet it is on my list of things to do tho.