ZJ Sending Unit - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
veronicayoung
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surprise
Posts: 13
ZJ Sending Unit

Ok well I used my brothers gas tank off his V8 ZJ because my pump on my V6 went out. Now my gas gauge is not working and i think it's the sending unit. Would I have to use the unit off my tank I had on the V6? How would I take it off?

veronicayoung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 07:13 PM
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George
Posts: 3,760
I would think you have to use the sending unit from the inline 6, its not a V-6 its an I-6 for next time.
xcaliber81 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
veronicayoung
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surprise
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcaliber81 View Post
I would think you have to use the sending unit from the inline 6, its not a V-6 its an I-6 for next time.
oh alright well thanks for catching me on that. and yea sounds like im gonna have to see if i can take the pump out of the V8s tank and use it on my tank
veronicayoung is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 07:24 PM
KoreaZJ
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GANGNAM STYLE
Posts: 2,666
Level sensor is part of the pump.

Both pumps from same year?
KoreaZJ is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
veronicayoung
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surprise
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoreaZJ View Post
Level sensor is part of the pump.

Both pumps from same year?
No my brothers is 97, mine 96
veronicayoung is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 08:41 PM
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by veronicayoung View Post
No my brothers is 97, mine 96
the pump assemblies changed in that span. you need the pump and sending unit for a 96.

'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-29-2012, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
veronicayoung
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surprise
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratmonkey View Post
the pump assemblies changed in that span. you need the pump and sending unit for a 96.
oh ok, im sorry im just trying to get this right. so you mean to say that the 97 pump will start up my jeep but the sending unit wont work for it? cause i have the 97 pump in my jeep and it starts it up
veronicayoung is offline  
Reply

Tags
96 , gas tank , grand cherokee zj , jeep , sending unit

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome