ZJ Rear Differential Noise... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > ZJ Rear Differential Noise...

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 06-30-2013, 07:39 AM   #1
cnaccarato
1997 ZJ 

ZJ Rear Differential Noise...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and a new Jeep owner as well. I just bought a 1997 Grand Cherokee and I took it in for an inspection and two different places told me that I need to replace the rear differential because the noise that its making. They said it's probably a pinion bearing gone bad and to replace all bearings. Does anyone know how to do this? I have no experience working on cars but I don't want to spend a whole lot of money to get this done. Any ideas or insight? Or if anyone in the Seattle area wants to help me go about doing this that would be awesome too!

Thanks for your help!

cnaccarato is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-30-2013, 09:53 AM   #2
JS97ZJ
1997 ZJ 

In order to do a rebuild on the diff, you need a couple of specialized tools and a dial type torque wrench.
If you don't get it right you could end up with more than just noise in a very short time.
Here is a link to Morris 4x4. They have a knowlede base online factory repair manual that you can look up the proceedure for doing the job.

https://www.jeep4x4center.com/knowle...ex.htm#service

Many guys will just get a replacement at a u-pullit. You could also check youtube for videos on the topic.

Welcome to the forum.
JS97ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-30-2013, 10:03 AM   #3
ZeeJay1997
1997 ZJ 

Did it fail the inspection because it is making a noise?

If so, that is bull....