JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/)
-   -   zj 3.5 inch lift front cv shaft (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/zj-3-5-inch-lift-front-cv-shaft-1225847/)

EdZJ96 06-11-2011 09:15 AM

zj 3.5 inch lift front cv shaft

i have a 96 zj with a 3.5 inch lift from rough country and im running 31's and on the website it say you may have to replace the cv joint on the front driveshaft if vibrations happen. my question is should i get an aftermarket front drive shaft or just get another cv front driveshaft. or could i just rebuild the cv joint and be fine. im new to the whole jeep thing and this is my first truck and first build. so sorry about my lack of knowledge lol :confused:

MuddSlutt 06-11-2011 09:17 AM

in my opinion i would look into swapping it for a u-joint shaft, just go to a junk yard and change the yoke on the front diff

blackjack12982 06-11-2011 10:36 AM

They say to not use the CV DS because it will blow the CV joint up. IIRC, someone makes a conversion yoke so you don't even need to swap the yoke on the T-case. You will need to upgrade to a ujoint DS. Some people's CV DS lasts 5 ft, some last 50 miles.

Dodgeram1989 06-11-2011 10:40 AM

I put 500 miles on my CV before I did my 242 swap and changed to a Ujoint style. The CV was shot and very close to breaking

DayneZ 06-11-2011 01:38 PM

well if my cv joint didn't just blow up today. im running 2 3/4 coil spacers and it's been vibrating for a while and just blew today. sucks man

EdZJ96 06-11-2011 04:04 PM

so my best bet is to buy a conversion kit to make it a u joint? does anyone have a link for one or something

po0dingles 10-30-2013 11:02 AM

Good talk.

Any info on the above?

PolkaPower 10-30-2013 11:13 AM